Competition

The contest I entered was the 2012 Adobe Design Achievement Awards. I chose to participate in the Adobe Contest because it would allow me to enter multiple photos into the competition, which was both convenient and fun because I had multiple entries that were different from each other. I entered the contest today March 23, 2012

The contest can be found at:http:
//www.adobeawards.com/us/

These three pictures all taught me something different. The boots shot was taken using natural light with reflectors and light filters during a portrait photo shoot. I decided to be a little abstract and focus on the boots and make the person the secondary focus. I really like the texture of the boots and once I applied some smart filters and did some adjusting in camera raw the finished product resembled what I wanted from the start. The golf sunset was edited in very similar fashion to the boots. However the actual picture taking process was very different. I used a tripod for both but beyond that my concerns were totally different. In the sunset shot I wanted to capture the dark mood that was present and show the hope fading on the horizon so let the exposer open for a long time to get the right amount of light.  The pipes were originally part of a two piece project that was built around a close focus and a focus on the foreground. I like the close focus because it leads you to the center of the picture and your eyes follow the pipes up.

 

Cowgirl at Heart
Canon EOS 10D, 1/45 sec, f/5.6, ISO 100, 60MM

 

Pipe Dreams
Canon EOS 10D, 1/30 sec, f/5.6/ ISO 100, 35MM

 

Golf Sunset
Canon EOS 10D, 1/1500 sec, f/4, iso 100, 35 mm

Leave a comment